Search form

The Holt Leadership Award for Residents and Fellows-in-Training

The Holt Leadership Award is awarded annually to the Resident or Fellow-in-Training who best exemplifies the attributes of a young leader: honesty, integrity, fairness, advocacy, and enthusiasm. The Award recognizes exemplary efforts onbehalf of the Section for Residents and Fellows-in-Training of the AAO-HNS/F for the promotion of the missions and goals of the association.

Nominees are brought forward annually from the SRF. Two candidates are submitted to the AAO-HNS/F Executive Committee for their final selection. The award, a check for $500 and a plaque, is presented at the annual SRF General Assembly and the awardee is announced during the Annual Meeting Opening Ceremony.

2019 Holt Leadership Award Recipient:
Claire M. Lawlor, MD

The AAO-HNS is pleased to award the 2019 Holt Award to Claire M. Lawlor, MD. Since her first year in residency, Dr. Lawlor has been involved in the SRF. She has held numerous leadership positions on the SRF's Governing Council, including BOG Socioeconomic & Grassroots Committee Representative, BOG Governor, Vice Chair, Chair, and most recently, Immediate Past Chair. Dr. Lawlor has provided guidance to the current SRF Governing Council members as they transitioned into their new roles and has been involved in many important projects benefiting residents. Beyond the scope of the SRF, Dr. Lawlor is an active member in the Women in Otolaryngology Section and in the Foundation's Guideline Task Force. She is a strong advocate for early involvement in the Academy and multiple residents have become involved because of her mentorship. To her peers, Dr. Lawlor fully embodies all the leadership attributes required of the Holt Award recipient.

Dr. Lawlor is a pediatric otolaryngologist at Children's National in Washington, D.C. She has a special interest in caring for children with sleep disorders, airway lesions, difficulty swallowing, difficulty breathing, and head and neck masses. Dr. Lawlor completed her fellowship in pediatric otolaryngology in 2018 at Boston Children's Hospital after her residency in otolaryngology in 2017 at Tulane University and an internship in otolaryngology in 2013. She completed medical school in 2012 at Tufts University School of Medicine in Massachusetts.

Previous Awardees:
  • 2018: Peter M. Vila, MD
  • 2017: David S. Cohen, MD
  • 2016: John M. Carter, MD
  • 2015: Nikhila P. Raol, MD, MPH
  • 2014: Jayme R. Dowdall, MD
  • 2013: Mark E. Zafereo, Jr., MD 
  • 2012: Jeffrey C. Liu, MD
  • 2011: Vasu Divi, MD
  • 2010: Lily Love, MD
  • 2009: Spencer C. Payne, MD
  • 2008: Jacob D. Steiger, MD
  • 2007: Monica Tadros, MD
  • 2006: Angela M. Powell, MD and Mark E. Boston, MD
  • 2005: Adam T. Ross, MD
  • 2004: Paul L. Leong, MD
  • 2003: Liana Puscas, MD and Robert Puchalski, MD
  • 2002: F. Christopher Holsinger, MD